Do you want to add new functionality, or fix a bug in your published CX app? ActiveCampaign makes it easy! This guide will lead you through the steps to quickly and easily release an updated version of your CX app with your changes.
WAIT! Does the new version change a workflow's name, or delete a workflow?
You can change the label (what users will see) at any time, but once a workflow is published, the workflow can not be deleted, and it's name can not be changed.**
When an app is published, users will implement these workflows into their automations. These workflows are identified in our system by the
nameyou assigned to it. If in a future update the workflow is deleted, or its name is changed, users who have that workflow previously implemented will continue to use the old workflow- "branching" your configuration: Some users still using the old workflow, and new implementations using the new workflow.
If a workflow is not deleted and its name is not changed, any workflow content updates will be provided to all users.
A good software development practice is to always bump version numbers when releasing an update. ActiveCampaign makes this easy, allowing you to track changes across versions, and even roll back to previous versions if necessary. If you have a previously released app (public or privately released) the updating process is the same.
Changing API AUTH endpoints will cause all current app users to disconnect when the new version is published
Normally, users will be migrated to the new version of your CX app seamlessly, but if the Auth or Connection endpoints are changed, all users who have your integration running will need to re-connect their integrations.
Don't forget to test your CX app in sandbox!
Experienced software developers know that sometimes small changes can have big consequences. Always test your applications "in sandbox" before submitting for review.
Updated 7 months ago