Deleting a schema field is an irreversible process.
Assuming a valid 202 Accepted response is received, any associated field data on associated records will immediately be unavailable to the user. There may be a small delay if record requests are in the midst of processing when the field delete request is issued.
The deleted field id will not be immediately recycled for reuse. Users are encouraged to leverage the ?showFields=all query parameter when programmatically creating new schema fields, to ensure field id uniqueness. Fields that have been deleted will contain a status: marked_for_deletion attribute.
The field delete operation is only permitted for admin users.
Field deletion is not permitted on public or child schemas (private schemas only).